Marquis Who’s Who History Timeline

1984 — the Marquis Who’s Who and Who’s Who in America present Achievement Awards

On September 24th, in a ceremony in New York City, Marquis President Kenneth Petchenik presents five awards, recognizing people the company judges to be the most creative or having a positive impact on society.

Recipients are Lee Iacocca, chairman of the Chrysler Corporation, Malcolm Cowley, writer and literary critic, Maclyn McCarty, a discoverer of DNA’s role in heredity, Robert Merton, ¬†one of the founding fathers of modern sociology, and Claude Shannon, an innovator in information technology.